top of page
Search
  • gemfirth123

Sketchbook Update / Charcoal Exploration Progress.

In light of focusing on wanting to develop drawing with a wider tonal range and a wider focus on form, I have been looking into using charcoal. As explained previously in a prior blog post, working in charcoal has been both interesting and insightful in terms of the shift in focus I have had in my work, as well as being able to identify where the fine liner would be most effective. Due to this, I have continued with the work using charcoal and have been recording my thoughts in my sketchbook. This has been and will be useful because I will able to refer to this in the future to see what we well, and what needed further improvement.

With this in mind, I have been working two pieces, finishing one of those drawings. It has been an eye opening point in my project because I have been able to see the importance in the selection of medium, how to apply it and how it behaves in comparison to mediums I am far more comfortable in. It is clear that the looser the medium, the more freeing the process of creating becomes because you are less focused on being accurate in terms of detail, but rather the form of the subject and the tonal range becomes far more crucial to get right. I will include the photographs from my sketchbook detailing my thoughts and process, as well as some ongoing images of the charcoal work. This will ultimately influence my next workshop, focusing on drawing techniques because I am approaching subject matter I am comfortable with, with a medium that I have used before but would not consider myself fully comfortable with when compared to fine liner pen.










5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page