top of page
Search
  • gemfirth123

Presenting My Work For Marking - Thought Process and Changes to My Planning Intentions

Presenting My Work For Marking

Thought Process and Changes to My Planning Intentions




Presenting my work is a big part of the project because it begins to sum up all of the areas of investigation I have undertaken, as well as presenting a body of work to a viewer who has little or no idea what my project has been about. Due to COVID and course time constraints, a typical exhibition has not been possible, which has changed my plans in terms of exhibiting my work significantly. I would have liked the work to be across two walls, allowing the work to be spaced out in a more professional manner, as this is a more appropriate exhibiting style. However, for the benefit of presenting my work for an examiner or marker, this was the best way I could exhibit my work. Although not all of the work is on the wall, due to space issues and not wanting to separate my work too far away from each other to still create some of the impact I wanted to have in an exhibiting environment, I put a select of large and smaller pieces of work across the wall to give some variety of the project. As well as this, below are my charcoal studies, presented in such a way that the viewer can look through and handle these pieces if need be. I like having some of the work off the wall because people can pick the work up, view it closely and have a different visual experience in this manner. Also, I did not want to cram too much onto the wall to make it overwhelming. My main aim was to present some of the portrait and landscape sheds in a relaxed format that did not have the same formality as an exhibition, because exhibiting to the general public was not possible at this time.

To accompany my drawings, I wanted to try and make a clear connection between my online elements, the Learning Platform ‘Sketch’ and my blog, and my physical work. To do this, I decided to print off a viewers copy of the workshops. A viewers copy simply includes all the tasks and relevant literature that they would require to learn about drawing skills and perspective. Although, the full versions are available online on my site. As well as this, I also included two QR codes to allow the viewer, examiner or marker to scan the QR and view both my blog and Sketch while infant of the physical work. There, they will see the clear connections between the content in the website, workshops and the imagery of the website. Making it easy to access is something I wanted to do in the exhibition space, however this was a close alternative that I could do on a smaller scale. Having the digital element of the project involved with the physical work is important because each element works hand in hand and his influenced by the other. Therefore, making this connection, even in a small way such as the use of a QR code makes it clear to the viewer why I have included it and helps them learn about my workshops.

Finally, I have provided three sketchbooks and a folder full of experimentation, writing, research and preparation work for the larger drawings. Within the sketchbooks in particular, you will find lots of information about my thought process, planning and research that has ultimately influenced the drawings I have produce. As well as this, planning and testing of workshop tasks are extensive within the sketchbooks as I have tried to document how I use perspective and relevant drawing skills throughout the body of work. Although you will see overlap between the sketchbooks and the blog, having an understanding of what I am doing, how I am doing it and the direction that the project is going in is the important aspect. Having overlap has occurred due to research and planning being similar in both aspects.


Overall, the presentation of my work has been a very important aspect of the project, as shown by my prior planning. I had to make some alterations to my initial plan because of the space available to me, and specifically it being slightly larger than I had intended. Therefore, putting more on the walls was beneficial in this instance. As this was not an exhibition space, I wanted to show a selection of work over the two MDF walls, which I feel I was able to do. Having the table also is very useful for other elements of my work, inlying the connecting piece between the physical work and the digital, the QR code. All in all I am pleased with the presentation of my work, and feel it shows my work in the way in which it was intended, given the lack of exhibition at this time.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page