top of page
Search
  • gemfirth123

Planning the Two Point Perspective Section of the Workshop - Deciding on Tasks and Approaches.

Planning the Two Point Perspective Section of the Workshop - Deciding on Tasks and Approaches.


While putting some consideration into how the workshop will be formatted, and coming to the realisation that it requires to be split up into sessions for the most effective usability, providing beneficial tasks that are interesting but informative is becoming a very important factor of my project. Here, I am going to outline my intentions going forward and my general thoughts about the format of the workshop in terms of choice in tasks I offer.


Although I am basing much of the workshops around how I work, what I do and the techniques I use, there are some aspects where I need to be aware that some people will need to start form the beginning in order to understand the use of perspective effectively. As an artist, I do not necessarily have to consider the very basic concept of perspective through the use of drawing cubes, however this is where many of us start and later develop from into capable drawers, which is why I feel it is important to incorporate more into the workshop itself. Although it will only be the first task of every session that follows this simple concept of drawing cubes with the appropriate perspective, this gives the student the basic understanding of drawing a three dimensional object on a two dimensional plane, something many do not grasp easily. It allows the students who participate to start from the very beginning and build their understanding of the technique in a simplistic manner that doesn’t overwhelm them.


Taking into consideration the tasks and the general format of the workshop is an important part of planning a workshop because it determines how people engage with the workshops, if they’re able to understand the tasks and crucially, if they take anything from the tasks. Keeping the focus on producing simple, easy to understand workshops with manageable tasks that do not overwhelm the participant is key for this project because I am aiming at students doing it without being in the workshop environment. Therefore the requirements of it being easy to use and manageable to do by themselves are key to their success. Having gradual tasks that build knowledge allows the students to bank their understanding as they go along, as well as being able to spend as much or as little as they choose.


In light of this, I have decided to experiment with different potential tasks for task one and two of the two point perspective section of the project. I am considering having two starter tasks on this section because it is a more intricate process you have to get used to using before embarking on a detailed drawing. This is why I feel having an understanding of two point perspective in cube form is really important before doing any other exercise. I intend on making relevant sketches and notes to illustrate the potential ideas I have, and then make a decision on what I will incorporate into the workshop. Overall, I think this will be a beneficial part of my planning because I am trying different variations of tasks out to create a gradual method of understanding for a mixed ability audience.



Below are some photographs of my planning and experimenting from my sketchbook:






0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page