top of page
Search
  • gemfirth123

Planning a Framework for my Workshops - Drawing Fundamentals

Planning a Framework for my Workshops - Drawing Fundamentals


In light of my plan to create an online learning platform based around arts education and skill building, I have decided to begin planning some of the content that will be present on the site. This intertwines with my own practice because I intend to frame all of the content around what I do, which is painting and drawing. With that in mind, I have also decided to look deeper into my practice as a whole, and identify the skills and fundamentals I use to create my work. One of these fundamentals is the use of perspective. I feel that this is an important aspect of how I work because much of my subject matter is buildings, handmade structures and shed-like buildings. Therefore, the perspective of this kind of subject matter is vital when both trying to learn how to draw and learning how to draw buildings of any type accurately. Also, it is often an aspect of drawing that students find difficult to master, which is why I think it is appropriate to have as a theme of a workshop.

I intend to research into the best methods of delivering and producing workshop-like content as part of this project, however, I wanted to outline a basic framework that I can build on with the help of other examples and research. I will base my basic framework off my prior knowledge of running workshops, as well as some general initial ideas I have in terms of content. I feel that having a solid starting point of ideas is very useful to have because it gives you a starting point to begin research and further planning from. I have decided to split my perspective based drawing workshop into two, one covering one point perspective, the second covering two point perspective. Both workshops would have a similar format, and would be done one after the other, to really develop an understanding of perspective. Also, splitting the different types of perspective up makes for an easy to understand format with tasks that are manageable for varying abilities. For the benefit of the planning phase at this stage, I have decided to include images as part of my research of other perspective models to show the kind of thing I will be emulating in my workshop packs.


Perspective Workshop: One Point Perspective:


KIT LIST:

  • Pencil (HB)

  • Paper

  • Fineliner pen or biro

  • Rubber

  • Sharpener

  • Ruler


Introduction: - An explanation of what one point perspective is, its uses and key terminology that is associated with it.

  • Key terminology includes: Vanishing Point, Horizon Line

  • Alongside the introduction would be basic line drawn examples of one point perspective, with labels indicating where the vanishing point and horizon line are located.

  • Possibly, a photographic example of it to give more context about the use of perspective. E.g a picture of a street with the road going to a vanishing point. - this would be labelled similar to the basic line drawing example


Task 1: Perspective task using one point perspective. Simple worksheet made by myself that shows one point perspective in a simple manner. Get the participant to draw their own road going to a vanishing point. This would be a full drawing along with shading and the details of the building to fully understand that all element of the piece are in the direction of the vanishing point.


Task 2: Building on task one, can you use one point perspective in a different way. How can using perspective be altered to what you are trying to draw. E.g half a street or a less conventional angle that still has the single point of perspective. This would be a full drawing along with shading and the details of the building to see how using perspective is versatile, even with a single point of perspective. Here is an example I have found in my very early research into models or visual reference points of one point perspective. I like this particular example because of the buildings, and how they

can be interpreted in different ways, while having the same vanishing point. It is my aim to have my own basic examples such as this, as well as follow along tutorials of how to draw from references I have from my project. I think the combination of the two gives the participant a starting point and then how they can use similar elements to get to a higher level of drawing ability.


Task 3 / Main task: Use what you have learnt from task one and two to follow along with a pictorial tutorial to create this shed. - a reference will be provided as well as a very basic step by step tutorial explaining every aspect of using one point perspective in a more substantial piece of work. The step by step guide would be the area where I direct the learning either through pictures or through a basic video of me drawing with written prompts.





Perspective Workshop: Two Point Perspective:


KIT LIST:

  • Pencil (HB)

  • Paper

  • Fineliner pen or biro

  • Rubber

  • Sharpener

  • Ruler


Introduction: - An explanation of what two point perspective is, its uses and key terminology that is associated with it.

  • Key terminology includes: Vanishing Point, Horizon Line and building on the understanding of the one point perspective tasks in that you can have more than one vanishing point, depending on the scenario.

  • Alongside the introduction would be basic line drawn examples of two point perspective, with labels indicating where the vanishing points and horizon line are located.

  • Possibly, a photographic example of it to give more context about the use of perspective. E.g a picture of a building with two vanishing points either side of it - this would be labelled similar to the basic line drawing example


Task 1: Perspective fundamentals task using two point perspective. Simple worksheet made by myself that shows one point perspective in a simple manner. Get the participant to draw a simple cube shape following the conventions of two point perspective. Using the worksheet as a prompt. This worksheet will direct the participant to identify where the vanishing points are in relation to the three dimensional object they are going to draw. As this is a more complicated form of perspective in comparison to the one point perspective, the first task is a simpler exercise to understand where to position, sketch out and apply the use of two point perspective.



Task 2: Building on the basic introduction to two point perspective, the participants will try to apply their understanding to create three different forms of two point perspective. This is to develop the understanding of perspective taking many forms, as well as how to apply it in different situations.

An example of this is shown in my research image. This shows how two point perspective can alter depending on the eye level it was taken at. The outcomes change, but they still follow along with both the horizon line and the vanishing points. This is important to understand because sometimes the vanishing points may be off the paper you are using, or the angle of the building may be slight, therefore having knowledge of how perspective works in this instance will help you create accurately angled buildings.


Task 3 / Main Task: Use what you have learnt from task one and two to follow along with a pictorial tutorial to create this shed. - a reference will be provided as well as a very basic step by step tutorial explaining every aspect of using two point perspective in a more substantial piece of work. The step by step guide would be the area where I direct the learning either through pictures or through a basic video of me drawing with written prompts.




Conclusion to this initial plan and the areas where I want to experiment and expand the ideas:


After outlining my initial Idas for the first two workshops for my online platform I think there is a basis for a successful workshop. I think the tasks across both groups of activities are manageable and will be easy to understand because they are split up into sections that gradually progress in difficulty each time. Although my plans for each task are basic and brief, I think that through some further research I will be able to build out my ideas further to create an appropriate task for each aspect of the workshop. Having easy to understand worksheets and resources alongside the tasks will also be a very useful inclusion to help people guide their own learning from home while doing the workshops I’ve provided, as well as a possible tool to work alongside further school studies. One aspect I feel I need to clarify more is the main tasks. This area is more directed by myself and getting those participating to draw along with me either through photographic examples at every stage, or through video with written prompts. I would like to experiment with both ideas to see which is the most viable for the participant. At this early stage I believe either method would work really well, but both would need to be very clear and simple in their deliverance. I intend to research different forms of workshops that are virtual to formulate my own approach. Overall, I think this has been a good starting point for me to identify areas I need to work on, research and build on to ultimately create the best online content as I can.





BIBLIOGRAPHY (Images used)


Barnes, S., 2020. Two Point Perspective Example. [image] Available at: <https://mymodernmet.com/perspective-drawing/> [Accessed 20 November 2020].


Nava, J., 2020. One Point Perspective Example. [image] Available at: <https://www.joshuanava.biz/techniques-2/onepoint-perspective.html> [Accessed 18 November 2020].

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page