top of page
Search
  • gemfirth123

Exploring further drawing processes

Throughout my project, I have been trying to find ways and methods within my process that best reflect the different subject matter I select. This lead me to combining fine liner pen with alcohol pens, pencil and charcoal to try and find ways to translate the different textures and tonal ranges I could see in my references. As pen is a limited medium by many regards due to its lack of tonal range, finding ways to supplement the drawings to add levels of tone to the work has been a priority in my personal practice. However, it has lead me to consider working with other drawing related mediums to see where I can incorporate elements of the fine liner pen to generate different outcomes again.

With this in mind, I have decided to explore the use of charcoal further, due to my prior work with the medium being positive, albeit on a small area of a larger fine liner piece. Charcoal is a medium with a wider tonal range, and would give me the effect I desire in terms of achieving a piece with lots of subtle changes in tone, however, the level of accuracy that one can achieve in this medium can be limited. This is because the medium itself is quite temperamental in terms of how it applies and layers. However, I think this will be beneficial to the project because it gives both my personal development within drawing the opportunity to grow in a different direction, and also my workshops will have diversity to their content, which helps students understand drawing as a universal tool that can be done with a range of mediums far better. I intend on producing a selection of pieces that offer different tonal values, with the emphasis on the form of the structure rather than the detail to see what I can produce, and ultimately forge connections between the fine liner drawings, and this work.



Below, I have begun this process by documenting my work in my sketchbook. This takes you through process shots, my thoughts and how I approach the drawings I am working on. This is something I will produce another blog post about in the future once I have produced a selection of outcomes.








1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page