top of page
Search
  • gemfirth123

Developing Video content for the Workshops

As I have been developing my workshop content and the tasks within the workshop, I have decided to incorporate video into this. As one of the main aspects of a workshop is taken away due to the current world circumstances, the need for interactive elements become quite important to a student's understanding. Having videos that you can 'draw along' with is important because it can show a student who may struggle with direct instruction how to approach a task in a way that is practical rather than written down. It also gives the tasks more weight or significance, which all helps to the student's general understanding.

Here I have included some exerts from my sketchbook to show the development of videos, experimentation and the planning I have undertaken. I have created storyboards, test videos, shown the outcomes from each attempt as well as made some additions to the worksheet aspect of the workshop about a key term, direction of sight. It has shown my that I had previously forgotten about key aspects f understanding perspective that I only uncovered as I was testing the videos out, such as direction of sight. I have then incorporated it into the workshop format.


(Not in any particular Order)








__________________________________________________________________________________


Draw Along Concept


Earlier in my project, I made reference to adding a ‘draw along’ feature into my online workshops. This is an important part of my project because it will give the student visual examples of how to approach a task, drawing or subject through copying. Learning through doing is a valid method of how people learn and specifically develop techniques. Having short videos within my workshop content is important because it will add the ‘learning through doing’ aspect to it, somewhat simulating a beneficial part of being in an in-person workshop. It is my intention that the videos will be used for this purpose and will prove to be an important aspect of each workshop I create.

The draw along concept is inspired by tutorial based learning that is typically found on television or on educational websites. Most notably, Bob Ross’ TV series is a good example of how to take a participant from a starting point to a finished piece in a short space of time. Ross paints a landscape in each episode, offering techniques and approaches when using brushes or knives to create a piece of work. Although it is a very calm, relaxed and possibly informal approach, it does show you how to apply, use and create a painting using limited materials. It has the intentions to take a complete artistic novice through a landscape painting with ease, allowing someone to pick up application techniques along the way. As there is a big emphasis on the use of the brushes and palette knives, much of Ross’ paintings are focused around how to use those tools to create appropriate shapes and marks to eventually develop a finished product. There is less emphasis on being able to draw or paint accurately. It is my intention to research Bob Ross further in light of this connection, however noting his television series is an important aspect of what I am trying to create in terms of the short videos I am developing.



The use of iPad Screen Recording and Drawing to develop visual tutorials


Although I have only used screen recording when drawing to create some visual tutorials four times as a means to test the process, I think it could be really beneficial for the educational content. Even though there will be a slight difference between the student’s method of drawing and that of the video’s, the step by step process remains very similar. The fact I can directly record every mark I make on the screen without having to film myself from a different device makes the process convenient, as well as being very clear for the viewer. There are no areas of the process the participant cannot see, which makes it really easy to understand and interpret. Although it is not something I would associate with my practice currently, the fact that I can draw on the iPad with little issue, while recording myself, allows me to incorporate something I centre my practice around, drawing, with a format that has more usability to it. This method is often found on Instagram where artists will record their process to show how they have create a final product. As many people like to see how a drawing is constructed, having it on a digital format, while it still having the drawn feel to it creates a measured balance. I think I would be able to use the screen recordings for small tasks or tutorial based content because I will be able to start from a blank point and create something in real time. This would allow me to to have some sort of involvement with the student as they learn, which is extremely helpful for their ability to understand a topic.

Even though I see this format of videoing myself as a positive in many regards, it does not benefit my practice entirely. As much of my practice is based around creating physical drawings, screen recordings would be very limited in this area. I would have to film myself from another device as I am drawing to create an accurate depiction of what I am doing. However, the screen recordings are prefect for running through a basic task, technique or doing a basic outline for the benefit of a demonstration. Although it does not represent my work in its entirety, it does have a valid place in the wider project where I am required to demonstrate techniques or processes in a simplistic format.

Overall, the experimentation with digital drawing and screen recording has been extremely beneficial because I have found a viable method of directly showing a student ‘how’ to do something without being in front of the student. This will be an important inclusion to my workshops as a result. All in all I am pleased with this area of experimentation.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page