top of page
Search
  • gemfirth123

Artist Research - Neil Whitehead - Looking at artists that used a Mixed Media Approach and that ...

Artist Research - Neil Whitehead - Looking at artists that used a Mixed Media Approach and that Share their Process in a Digital Format



As part of an ongoing effort to develop my mixed media practice, and how I combine mediums in my work, I have decided to continue looking at artists who use a mixed media approach to develop work in their own styles. As well as this, looking at artists who document their process online is also a big part of this current project due to my online learning platform. Looking at ways an artist films, presents their work and how they use video to show their process is very important for me to acknowledge and research. This is why I have decided to look at the work and practice of Neil Whitehead; an artist who focuses on the urban landscape in a mixed media style. Whitehead is a ‘plein air’ artist who focuses on the unban landscape as his subject matter. He focuses on “the tension, the light, the depth, the anger, the decay, the majesty, the height, the people, the love, the sky, the crowds, the bustle, the atmosphere, the moment” (Whitehead, 2021) of a location, making his pieces sketchy and fluid, which is a slightly different approach to that of

my own. The chosen subject matter Whitehead uses is something of particular interest to myself because there’s a heavy emphasis on architecture. Although my work looks at decaying sheds, I see parallels in the architecture selected by Whitehead because he focuses on the shapes, atmospheres and importantly the stories of the buildings he chooses to draw, something that I think is very important when selecting a building to draw. Having a personal connection the a structure is important because you look at it in a more organic and ‘full’ manner when you know the structure’s story, use or even the people who had it or built it. It adds to it’s personality. Whitehead states that “Urbanism is pivotal to my inspiration. Architecture and historic structures carry all sorts of stories and tales that can fuel my vivid imagination. I love the fusion of the modern age framed by listed buildings, historic shop fronts, archways and spires” (Whitehead, 2021) which shows his clear interests in the combination of old and new buildings, the combination of the two in certain locations and the stories behind the buildings.


Looking at Whitehead’s work, the line work in particular is quite simplistic and fluid. I like how much of it looks like he has not taken the pen off the paper many times, leading the viewer to believe that it is one long line that had produced the entire outline. I think this approach of mark making is severely underused in drawing, and is not considered a mark making technique as much

as it should be because the temptation is often to take the pen off the paper all the time. I think this process of a fluid, continuous line shows a state of change in the piece, and how a town or city is always moving and busy. I think the line work adds to the overall tone and feeling of the piece, which I really like. This is also complimented by the use of watercolour paint across the canvas, which gives the piece some depth without it feeling ‘coloured in’. The use of colour in this work is particularly effective because it gives the buildings some definition, while acknowledging that there is life in the piece, which is shown by some subtle silhouettes in the foreground. Although this approach is very suggestive, I think it works with the simple and fluid nature of the fine liner, making the pieces very interesting to look at. I think this would not necessarily work with my practice as my focus is on hyper realism, and trying to capture as much depth and detail as possible, something that is not as much of a requirement in work like this. However, in some of the colour choices Whitehead uses, I feel that they do have a tendency to flatten, or affect the visibility of some aspects of the piece. I do not necessarily see this as a negative on his work, however, it could be seen as a weaker aspect of his practice because of the loose nature of his application. Nevertheless, I do think the line work compliments the use of watercolour when looking at his entire body of work, and think the mark making in particular shines through as the strongest aspect.

Looking at his more painterly work, I like how the lines blend Ito the abstract paint Whitehead has applied. I think the smudging and overall colour choice compliments his drawing style in this piece here. The composition is therefore stronger due to the placement on the canvas, choice of mediums and how they have come together to create a strong outcome. I think Whitehead’s paintings are his stronger pieces because there seems to be a greater control and understanding of the mediums and how the position the landscape on the paper for the best look as a whole. In terms of the perspective used in the piece, I really like how the viewer can see down the street, as well as the angle being slightly more interesting being that it is off to one side. It takes away the danger of the painting becoming too flat, because of the choice of perspective. Single streets can become very boring to look at if the perspective is not interesting or allows for any extra depth or interest on the sides. The height of the buildings being different also contributes to the overall success fo the piece, and draws the eyes down and into the painting from the very top, which is very much a positive of this work. All in all, I think the way the influences of the drawing techniques have filtered into this piece has heavily impacted the overall outcome of this canvas piece.


Video Content


Acknowledging an artist’s video content is pivotal to my project because I am building an educational platform that allows others to learn from an artist how to approach different artistic

approaches and techniques. Looking at Whitehead’s website, it is clear the use of video is really useful for him to explain how he approaches his strongest mediums, how he combines mediums and also how he works at different scales. Here, I have included a screenshot of one of his videos, showing the viewer how the do a continuous line sketch, something that is pivotal to his practice. I like this video because although it does not have any spoken dialogue, the caption as well as the clear, simple video showing how to work with a continuous lime explains to the viewer how to approach a drawing in this style. Having a video like this on a website with your work on it allows the viewer to see how the artist does their work upon first visiting their portfolio. This can be a great way for a viewer to strike an interest in the style, or even generate more of a connection to your work as a whole.

Including video content on my learning platform has been one o the best elements I have included because I have been able to put my hands on input into the things I was writing about, giving the viewer the opportunity to see how to approach something visually. Sometimes video can be a better medium than writing about something because it allows someone who may struggle with reading to see how to do something, the choices of medium and allow them to learn through copying. By doing this, you are reaching a wider demographic of people and making the art work far more approachable. The same can be Sid for Whitehead’s work here, he is making his practice approachable to those who may never have drawn in this way, showing them how to do it on a small scale. This is a very beneficial way of using your practice to help others.


Looking at the work of Neil Whitehead has been very beneficial to my project. Not only has it opened my eyes in terms of different combination of mediums, but new mark making techniques that I had not thought to consider within my workshop content. I think the use of the single line approach would be a useful inclusion to my own learning platform because of the sheer challenge it gives students, and the fluidity that comes with it. In terms of the video content, it has shown me the importance of an artist using their online presence in multiple ways, with an emphasis on teaching others how to approach art in different ways to create interesting work. Overall I think it has been a beneficial aspect of my research, and I am pleased I am including it at this stage of my project.





SOURCE: Whitehead, N., 2021. Original urban inspired artworks and sketches - Award-Winning Urban Landscape Artist - Neil Whitehead - Taunton, Somerset. [online] Award-Winning Urban Landscape Artist - Neil Whitehead - Taunton, Somerset. Available at: <https://www.neilwhitehead.co.uk/8723062-home-copy> [Accessed 19 August 2021].

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page